Sonos decided to end the Recycle Mode that was part of its trade-up program. In its previous guise that program essentially bricked Sonos devices with users receiving a 30% discount on a new device.

The system hasn’t changed all that much in the way it works – users can still trade up to newer devices – but they now have more flexibility. If users want to keep their older product, they can. Or they can give it to someone else. It’s completely up to them, with the option to give it to Sonos still available should they so wish.

Sonos has now also removed Recycle Mode from its apps, with users instead told to contact Sonos and its customer support teams if they want to upgrade to a new device. Sonos hasn’t yet updated its website with the new changes, but it’ll happen at some point.

Previously, anyone choosing Recycle Mode started a 21-day countdown. When that countdown came to an end, the device would be wiped and become unusable. Sonos claimed that the move was to ensure personal and private data had been removed from recycled devices, but that didn’t fly.

While this is good news, users of legacy products still won’t get software updates. That means you’ll probably want to upgrade anyway.

(Via: The Verge)

You may also like to check out:

You can follow us on Twitter, or Instagram, and even like our Facebook page to keep yourself updated on all the latest from Microsoft, Google, Apple, and the Web.

Related Stories