If you have a burning desire to hear what the Queen’s Christmas message is this year, just ask Alexa.

For reasons that we can’t really understand, Alexa will play you the annual Christmas Day message so long as you ask after 3PM GMT (or 10AM ET, 7AM PT) on Christmas Day. “Alexa, play the Queen’s Christmas Day message,” will reportedly get the job done.

“After a challenging year, millions of people from across the Commonwealth will be eagerly awaiting Her Majesty the Queen’s message on Christmas Day.

By creating this world-first innovation, just as we did in 2012 with the release of the Queen’s Christmas speech on Kindle, we hope that even more people will be able to enjoy the uplifting words of Her Majesty,” says a statement from Eric King, Director of Amazon Alexa Europe. Although quite why anyone would want to listen to someone so detached from the real world talk about 2020 is beyond us.

Anyone who would rather read the message can head to The Royal Household’s website. You’ll find not only this year’s message but also those going all the way back to 1952. Again, for reasons we can’t quite fathom.

So yes, that’s a thing that’s happening in 2020. Enjoy.

You may also like to check out:

You can follow us on Twitter, or Instagram, and even like our Facebook page to keep yourself updated on all the latest from Microsoft, Google, Apple, and the Web.

Related Stories