Apple released iOS 15.2 to the public earlier this week and the update includes a new feature that makes it easier for people to erase and reset an iPhone — because they no longer need to also have a Mac or PC to hand.

According to a new support document, the feature is available in Security Lockout mode, something that happens after someone has tried to enter a passcode too many times.

Apple notes that there are some caveats to keep in mind. Like, before you reset your device:

  • You need to have a device that’s using iOS 15.2 or iPadOS 15.2 or later.

  • Your device needs to be connected to a cellular or Wi-Fi network.*

  • You’ll need your Apple ID and password that you used to set up your device.

This is beneficial because it means that people no longer need to use a Mac or PC to erase an iPhone that’s been locked out. While that previous method made sense when iPhones were very much tethered to computers for all kinds of things, it makes much less sense in the present day.

The situation is no better when a WiFi or cellular connection isn’t available, unfortunately. In those instances, a computer will still be required and the device will have to be put into DFU mode.

You may also like to check out:

You can follow us on Twitter, or Instagram, and even like our Facebook page to keep yourself updated on all the latest from Microsoft, Google, Apple, and the Web.

Related Stories