You Can Now Use iPhone, HomePod And Apple Watch’s Ultra Wideband Technology In More Countries Thanks To iOS 14.7

People who live in Argentina, Pakistan, Paraguay, and the Solomon Islands can now make use of the Ultra Wideband technology that is used in devices like the iPhone 11, iPhone 12, and Apple Watch Series 6.

Apple has now updated its support documents to reflect that fact.

The Ultra Wideband technology has been available to those in the United States and some other countries for a year or two now, but Apple needs local approval for the feature to be enabled. That approval has now been given in those new countries, although there are still plenty that are out of luck, including:

Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Nepal, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan.

Apple uses the U1 chip in its devices, the chip that provides Ultra Wideband connectivity, for things like spatial awareness and Find My uses. It’s a key part of the AirTag experience and is something that people continue to miss out on based on their location.

Apple is very likely to include the U1 chip, or its successor, in the upcoming iPhone 13. We expect Apple to announce the new iPhones in or around September, with a release coming shortly after. A similar chip will likely be used in the upcoming Apple Watch Series 7, too.

You may also like to check out:

You can follow us on Twitter, or Instagram, and even like our Facebook page to keep yourself updated on all the latest from Microsoft, Google, Apple, and the Web.