Facebook has become something of an inseparable part of our lives, one which many of us take for granted, and somewhere in our journey through this social networking mammoth, which includes status updates, photos, posts to and from friends and family, etc. we forget what we leave behind. The social media giant has just launched the ‘On This Day’ feature which will give you a chance to look back into the past. More information to follow right after the jump.
On This Day has been initiated to throw Facebook users into the past, where the moments that you shared over the platform in some point in history will be accessible. According to Facebook, users will see “posts from friends and other things you’ve shared or been tagged in – from one year ago, two years ago, and so on. Only you will see this content unless you decide to share it with your friends.”
Interestingly, the feature is not accessible to everyone at this point, as is the case with a few of our team members as well. Facebook has a dedicated page for those throwback moments and a user can visit it at: facebook.com/onthisday
All those memories accessible on the On This Day page can be shared with friends as well, and if you wish to edit or delete those posts of yours, that can be done too. The page allows you to subscribe to notifications, so you’ll be alerted to any new memories available to look back on. Obviously, all dedicated information on this page is private and can only be made public if the user wishes to do so.
The feature is currently being rolled out at the time of writing, hence it may not be available to all of you at the moment, as mentioned earlier. On This Day is not just being pushed out to Facebook’s desktop based website, but the mobile version too.
Let us know if any of you have access to this feature, and if you do, don’t forget to share your experience with us in the comments section below.
You may also like to check out: