Apple has delayed a much vaunted privacy feature that was due to be part of iOS 14. In its initial form iOS 14 would have required developers to ask a user’s permission before it tracked them from app to app. But Apple has delayed that feature and it won’t be part of iOS 14 in its initial form.

However, Apple says the feature will be part of the update – developers just won’t need to abide by it yet.

The company shared the following with TechCrunch.

We believe technology should protect users’ fundamental right to privacy, and that means giving users tools to understand which apps and websites may be sharing their data with other companies for advertising or advertising measurement purposes, as well as the tools to revoke permission for this tracking. When enabled, a system prompt will give users the ability to allow or reject that tracking on an app-by-app basis. We want to give developers the time they need to make the necessary changes, and as a result, the requirement to use this tracking permission will go into effect early next year.

Facebook and other companies had complained that prompting users to approve or block cross-app tracking would have devastating impacts on ad businesses.

It seems that Apple has taken that on board now, giving developers and ad companies time to adjust. However, this feature was announced in June and so far those same developers and ad companies have done nothing but complain.

You may also like to check out:

You can follow us on Twitter, or Instagram, and even like our Facebook page to keep yourself updated on all the latest from Microsoft, Google, Apple, and the Web.

Related Stories