Uber is undeniably an efficient and convenient method of getting from point A to point B. Simply download the app, register an account with an assigned payment method, hail an Uber vehicle to your location from within the app, and the rest takes care of itself with minimal user input. Consumers are definitely happy to pay for a service that is infused with technology and convenience, but Uber is now taking things up to the next level with the integration of a new security feature called Trip Tracker which will let a family member track your journey in real-time so they know exactly where you are at any point in the journey.

The new feature is applicable to users who are using and consuming the service through the Uber Family Profile in the Uber app. The creator of the family account, who is essentially automatically assigned as the account administrator, will receive a push notification to his/her device as soon as one of the registered members of the account starts a trip in an Uber vehicle.

uber-main-2016

The notification tells the administrator the name of the individual taking the trip, and allows a a tap or swipe on the notification to invoke the Uber app and instantly start tracking the intricacies of that journey.

The reason behind the new Family Profile feature integration is extremely simple; to allow account administrators to keep an eye on the journey in case things take a turn for the worse or the driver for one reason or another takes a different route. It’s obviously a very rare occurrence, but it has happened in the past and has clearly been an issue that Uber has been keen to tackle and solve for the security of all who regularly take trips with Uber.

TripTracker

One of the instant issues that users may have to face is the fact that Uber allows the administrator to track the journey every single time if the main billing method is used. So, if a parent or head of the family has set up a Family Profile – which incidentally were introduced approximately two months ago – and you take a ride that will be billed to the main billing method on the account, then the administrator will be notified of your journey, even if you don’t want them to be. You can of course get around that by adding an additional payment method to the account and using your own resources to pay for that journey.

(Source: Uber)

You may also like to check out:

You can follow us on Twitter, add us to your circle on Google+ or like our Facebook page to keep yourself updated on all the latest from Microsoft, Google, Apple and the Web.

Related Stories