It’s fair to say that the majority of us probably have access to at least one social media account. Your preference may be Facebook along with the other billion plus active monthly users. It could be Twitter if you like to keep communications short and concise. Or if you’re a photography fan, then your network of choice may be the now Facebook-owned Instagram. It sometimes becomes necessary to take a little step back and clean up our digital lives. With that in mind, if you’ve ever wondered about how you would go about deleting your Instagram account, we’re going to take a look at the easy steps required to get that done.
It is important to note that you will need access to a working Internet connection on a computer to delete the account, and is something that is not possible through the Instagram mobile app.
How to delete an Instagram account permanently:
Step 1: First and foremost, you’ll need to head on over to Instagram’s “Delete Your Account” page by navigating to this link here. If you aren’t already logged into the Instagram service via the web then you’ll be asked to provide your Instagram credentials.
Step 2: Like most services accessed through the web and a dedicated mobile app, Instagram would like to know why you are deleting your account. Select the drop-down menu next to the “Why are you deleting your account” title. Select a reason from the list and re-enter your password when prompted.
Step 3: Click or tap on the “Permanently delete my account” button to remove the logged in Instagram account from the world. Forever.
It is important to note that the option to permanently delete the Instagram account will only appear as an option once selection from the above list has been made, meaning this is a mandatory field.
Now if you want to delete another account, simply follow the steps through once again.
Those wanting to delete an Instagram account will need to be aware that the account can only be removed manually by those with access to the username and password of the account. Instagram states that it is entirely unable to delete an account on request, meaning that if you’ve forgotten the password and are trying to do something a little malicious to someone else’s account, then deletion just isn’t an option.
It’s also worth noting that once an account has been deleted, it cannot be restored or recovered – which is probably why the company has also provided the ability to temporarily disable an account. Instagram will be unable to provide access to that account again and it’s impossible to register a new account using the same username. Think long and hard before you wipe your Instagram memories off the planet.